silver shaded - Farben bei Maine Coon Katzen | www.yankeecats.de

SILVER SHADED Maine Coon

Since I personally like these colors very much, here is a page for shaded variations. Shaded is possible with all silver tabby or silver torbie colors, black silver shaded, red silver shaded, blue silver shaded, cream silver shaded, also in torbie or with white.

Shaded always means that the cat is tabby. In nonagouti (smoke) there is also bright silver, but no name for it. Nonagoutis with silver are always called smoke, no matter how light or dark the silver is.

In shaded, the hair tips are about 1/3 colored, the bottom 2/3 of the hair is silver. If only about 1/8 of the hair tips are colored, it is called chinchilla or shell. Shaded cats should no longer have a recognizable tabby. In kittens the body may still show tabby, but the face or better the whole head should be "white" (silver) without tabby.

Silver cats often go through a bright period in their youth, at which time they look almost shaded. One must not confuse cats in this "chlorixphase" with shaded. Real shadeds usually have a much brighter face at birth than silver tabbies.

In Maine Coon shaded is still rare. Red silver shaded or cream silver shaded is more common because the bright silver works better in the red series. Black silver shaded or blue silver shaded are very rare, and chinchilla/shell is the rarest colour.

Since shaded is not caused by a single gene, the transitions between the colors are flowing. Where is the line between silver tabby and silver shaded, where between shaded and chinchilla? Silver cats do not always look the same, but can be sometimes lighter and sometimes darker in color, depending on their age or season. Therefore, depending on its development, a cat in adulthood can be lighter or darker than it was classified as a kitten in the color determination.

My shaded breeding boys and girls:

My previous shaded kittens :

SILVER SHADED Maine Coon

silver shaded - Farben bei Maine Coon Katzen | www.yankeecats.de

Da mir persönlich diese Farben sehr gut gefallen, gibt es hier eine Seite für shaded Variationen. Shaded ist bei allen silber tabby bzw. torbie Farben möglich, black silver shaded, red silver shaded, blue silver shaded, cream silver shaded, auch in torbie oder mit weiß.

Shaded bedeutet immer, dass die Katze tabby ist. Bei nonagouti (smoke) gibt es zwar auch helles silber, aber keine eigene Bezeichnung dafür. Nonagoutis mit silber werden immer smoke genannt, egal wie hell oder dunkel der Silberanteil ist.

Bei shaded sind die Haarspitzen ungefähr zu 1/3 gefärbt, die unteren 2/3 der Haare sind silber. Wenn nur noch ca. 1/8 der Haarspitzen gefärbt ist, spricht man von chinchilla (bei black/blue) oder shell (bei red/cream). Shaded Katzen sollen keine erkennbare Zeichnung mehr haben. Als Kitten darf der Körper noch Zeichnung zeigen, das Gesicht oder besser der ganze Kopf sollten aber "weiß" (silber) ohne Zeichnung sein.

Silberne Katzen machen in der Jugend oft eine helle Phase durch, in dieser Zeit sehen sie fast wie shaded aus. Man darf Katzen in dieser "Chlorixphase" aber nicht mit shaded verwechseln. Echte shadeds haben in der Regel schon bei Geburt ein deutlich helleres Gesicht als silber tabbys.

Bei Maine Coon ist shaded noch selten. Red silver shaded oder cream silver shaded gibt es öfter, weil sich das helle silber bei der Rotserie besser zeigt. Black silver shaded oder blue silver shaded sind sehr selten, und noch nicht so hell wie bei shaded Persern, da dies dort nur durch jahrzehntelange Farbzucht erreicht wurde.

Nachstehend ein paar shaded Katzen meiner Zucht: red silver shaded / red silver shell / black silver shaded torbie / black silver shaded torbie white / black silver shaded

red silver shaded

red silver shell

black silver shaded torbie

black silver shaded torbie white

black silver shaded